SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post Reply
PremediaRossel
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:00 pm

SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post by PremediaRossel »

Hello,

I have a PitStop based Flow in PowerSwitch.

How can I return information about the position of the job in the flow (pe

: like "Input", "PitStop", "Dispatching").

Could I use metadata (readable in the list view in SwitchClient) and how

to do that ?

Best regards,

Michael
bert_vr
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:45 pm

SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post by bert_vr »

PremediaRossel wrote: Hello,

I have a PitStop based Flow in PowerSwitch.

How can I return information about the position of the job in the flow (pe

: like "Input", "PitStop", "Dispatching").

Could I use metadata (readable in the list view in SwitchClient) and how

to do that ?

Best regards,

Michael


Michael,



There are different solutions to you challenge.



You could use the folder element's name and save this info into the job's hierachy container or you could assign different job states in several folder elements in your flow.



Both containers can be visualized easily in a checkpoint by using metadata fields where you then call these containers through the variable dialog. You can choose to use a simple text field or a more complex dropdown list. That's up to you.



Bert
Clive Andrews
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:41 am

SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post by Clive Andrews »

...or just trigger an email...?



We have specific Job arrived emails, one to customer, one to CSR - then a job passed email, configurable to customer/CSRs...
dkelly
TOP CONTRIBUTOR
Posts: 628
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:45 pm
Location: Alpharetta GA USA
Contact:

SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post by dkelly »

The following Javascript will print all of the incoming and outgoing connections to the log.





var flowName = s.getFlowName();

var elementName = s.getElementName();



s.log(1, "flow name: " + flowName);

s.log(1, "element name: " + elementName);



// list in connections

var i;

var inConnectionList = s.getInConnections();

s.log(1, "In connections (" + inConnectionList.length + ")");

for (i=0; i < inConnectionList.length; i++) {

var theConnection = inConnectionList.getItem(0);

var theName = theConnection.getName();

var theType = theConnection.getConnectionType();

var theFolderName = theConnection.getFolderName();

s.log(1, (i+1) + " name: " + theName + " type: " + theType + " folderName: " + theFolderName);

}

// list out connections

var outConnectionList = s.getOutConnections();

s.log(1, "Out connections (" + outConnectionList.length + ")");

for (i=0; i < outConnectionList.length; i++) {

var theConnection = outConnectionList.getItem(0);

var theName = theConnection.getName();

var theType = theConnection.getConnectionType();

var theFolderName = theConnection.getFolderName();

s.log(1, (i+1) + "- name: " + theName + " type: " + theType + " folderName: " + theFolderName);

}





Dwight Kelly

Apago, Inc.

dkelly@apago.com
rzacherl
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:29 pm

SwitchClient : returning steps of the flow

Post by rzacherl »

Hi,



the best way to do that is to write the actual job state into a database which can be accessed internally or even externally (by customers who are aloud to track their own jobs) via a web front-end. All you have to do is to place a suitable flow element which allows to communicate with your database at critical points within your flow(s) and update the actual job state in a job specific database record.

The optional database module of PowerSwitch 10 would allow such a solution.



Regards,



Robert
Post Reply