Page 1 of 1

Execute command tool

Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:05 pm
by scodeller.m
Hi,

I would like to run the following in line command using the Execute command tool:

/Applications/FlipPDFProfessional.app/Contents/MacOS/./FPCMD -f /Volumes/RAID Strip 1/flip/in/pag_1-10.pdf -o /Volumes/RAID Strip 1/flip/out/ -n test

(this is the command used in a shell)

where FPCMD is the application, -f /Volumes/RAID Strip 1/flip/in/pag_1-10.pdf is the input file absolute path, -o /Volumes/RAID Strip 1/flip/out/ the output folder absolute path and -n test is the output file name.

The output of the application is not a single file but some files, as the result is a flip-page.

How can I do it?

Execute command tool

Posted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:18 pm
by freddyp
In the "Execute command" tool you put

/Applications/FlipPDFProfessional.app/Contents/MacOS/./FPCMD as the "Command or path".



In the "Arguments" you "Define single-line text with variable" and in there you build the string:

-f "%1" -o "%3" -n [Job.NameProper]



%1 will be substituted by Switch by the path to the input file. %3 is a folder that Switch will create and where the output file(s) can be written. -n [Job.NameProper] because I am assuming you do not want the output file to have the name "test", but the name of the incoming job.



Then you also have to give Switch a hint that the output files will be in a folder by setting "Output" to "Result in folder".



I have not tested it with this application, but this seems the logical way to set it up. Looking forward to your feedback.



Freddy

Execute command tool

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:49 pm
by scodeller.m
Hi Freddy,

what you have suggested works fine.

The only problem is about the variable %3.

It get the following information:

/Users/serverx1/Library/Application Support/Enfocus/Switch Server/temp/3/ScriptElement/1/92/ExecuteComandTemp/

that is a temporary folder but in the path there is a space and I think that it is a problem.

I solved with this workaround.

Instead of the variable %3 I set the real final path

/Users/serverx1/Documents/out/[Job.Name].

In this way I get what wanted.

Execute command tool

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:48 am
by freddyp
I am glad you have a solution, but the spaces are not a problem when you take into consideration the following two points:

- write "%3" and not just %3 so the parameter is passed quoted

- when "%3" is passed to a shell script as for example the second argument you should quote the argument inside the script as well: "$2" instead of just $2.



Freddy