Page 1 of 1
Rename using md5
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:19 pm
by Terkelsen
Does any of you have an idea on how to use the Rename-feature to rename a file using md5 conversion.
Rename using md5
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:14 pm
by dkelly
Assuming you are running on OSX where 'md5' application is available your could use the following script expression.
Process.execute(new Array("md5", "-q", job.getPath()));
Process.stdout;
Rename using md5
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:24 pm
by Terkelsen
Hi Dwight,
You are right, that I'm usually on OSX but in this case I'm trying to help a costumer running Switch on Windows Server 2008. Do I understand you right that this makes a difference for the suggested script?
Rename using md5
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:01 pm
by dkelly
The 'md5' utility ships with Mac OS X. It isn't available on Windows without installing something like this:
http://www.fourmilab.ch/md5/
You would need to change the script to:
if (s.isMac())
Process.execute(new Array("md5", "-q", job.getPath()));
else
Process.execute(new Array("PathTomd5", "-n", job.getPath()));
Process.stdout;
Customize the path of md5 on Windows to location you installed it.
Rename using md5
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:01 am
by Terkelsen
Hi Dwight
I've tested this on Mac OSX and it works just perfect.
For using it on Windows you suggest that I download and install "something like this" and then you supply a download link. The link refers to a PDF, an I'm not quite sure how I'm supposed to use that?
Rename using md5
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:53 pm
by dkelly
Sorry, copy-n-paste error. I fixed the URL in original post.